2018-08-09 / Front Page

Millages pass in primary

Voters approve MCF, SCD requests, choose candidates for general election

MANISTIQUE – With a voter turnout of just over 28 percent, Schoolcraft County residents voted in various candidates and approved two millage requests in Tuesday’s Primary Election. In total, 1,847 out of 6,536 registered voters in Schoolcraft County cast votes.

The Schoolcraft County Medical Care Facility saw its millage renewal proposal approved with 1,158 “yes” votes. Only 539 residents voted “no”. The proposal asked for the continuation of up to 1.5 mills against all taxable real and personal property in Schoolcraft County for a period of five years, 2018 through 2022, inclusive. The funds will be used to provide funds for operation and maintenance of the facility.

Also fortunate at the polls, by a narrow margin, was the Schoolcraft Conservation District. Voters approved, 846 “yes” to 838 “no” votes, the District’s request for .22 mills for a period of 10 years, 2018 to 2027 inclusive. Those funds will be used to provide conservation, forestry, and education services to the county.

In the local candidate pool, residents began by casting votes in the Schoolcraft County Road Commission race. On the Republican side of the ballot, candidate Isaac Swisher earned 603 votes. He ran unopposed.

For the Democrats, Robin LaCroix landed a win with 593 votes. Candidate William Poniatoski was able to garner just 208 votes.

There was just one candidate vying for the Schoolcraft County Board of Commissioners District 1 seat – incumbent Craig Reiter. He took home 106 votes on the Democrat side of the ballot.

In District 2 of the commission race, Allan Ott, incumbent running unopposed as a Republican, landed 119 votes.

There were no candidates in the District 3 race.

For the commission seat in District 4, John Shiner garnered 111 votes on the Democrat side of the ballot, while Paul Walker tallied 101 votes on the Republican side.

In District 5, incumbent Dan Hoholik landed 161 votes as a Republican. He ran unopposed.

For the state-wide races, Ed McBroom beat out fellow Republican candidate Mike Carey in the race for the 38th District State Senate seat. McBroom garnered 16,264 votes in the district, 635 votes in Schoolcraft County. Carey received 7,197 district votes – 245 from Schoolcraft County residents.

Democrat Scott Dianda ran unopposed for his party’s nomination in the 38th District. He received 23,061 votes statewide – 734 in Schoolcraft County.

Republican Melody Wagner and Democrat Sara Cambensy were both unopposed in their party’s nominations for the 109th District representative seat. Cambensy received 9,987 statewide votes, 783 in Schoolcraft County. Wagner took home 728 Schoolcraft County votes, 5,961 statewide votes.

The 1st District Congressional race saw Republican Jack Bergman, running unopposed in his party, garnering 83,363 votes statewide, 827 Schoolcraft County votes. Tabulations for write-in Democrat Matt Morgan were still being calculated as of press time Wednesday.

Democrat Debbie Stabenow, running unopposed for the U.S. Senate, tallied 820,075 votes statewide, 809 votes in Schoolcraft County. On the Republican side, John James won his party’s nomination in the U.S. Senate race, taking in 466,836 votes statewide, 476 in Schoolcraft County. Republican Sandy Pensler was able to capture just 388,747 votes statewide, 366 votes in Schoolcraft County.

On the Republican side of the governor’s race, Bill Schuette came through with his party’s nomination, receiving 454,549 votes statewide – 524 in Schoolcraft County. Democrat Gretchen Whitmer scored her party’s nomination with 479,556 votes statewide, 522 in Schoolcraft County.

Return to top