2013-10-31 / Sports

Blowers, Ayotte receive cross country honors

Holly Blowers Holly Blowers MANISTIQUE – The Upper Peninsula Cross Country Coaches Association recently released the names of the 2013 U.P. Runners of the Year.

The All-U.P. Dream Team selections were as follows:

Boys: Brett Hannah, Munising; Conner Cappaert, Stephenson; David Jazsczak, Houghton; Nate Carney, Kingsford; Cole Rieboldt, Marquette; Lance Rambo, Marquette; and Jared Joki, Ironwood.

Girls: Lily Calcaterra, St. Ignace; Kameron Burmeister, Menominee; Leigha Woelffer, Gladstone; Lindsey Rudden, Marquette; Amber Huebner, Marquette; Abbey Tembruell, Hancock; and Kaylee Hoolsema, Rudyard.

In Division 2 honors, Manistique had two athletes recognized for their cross country efforts. Holly Blowers, a sophomore, was selected in the girls’ division. Senior Robert Ayotte, was acknowledged in the boys.

Boys Division 2: Robert Ayotte, Manistique; Jared Joki, Michael Barto and Tim Lorenson, Ironwood; Justin Anderson, Norway; Kazmine Langness, Mark Holmgren, Daren Guichin, Derek Mahosky and Matt Ferratt, Ishpeming; Brad Gustafson, Andrew Sjogren, Jacob Sjogren and Martin Donakowski, St. Ignace; Hayden Heikkinen, Jacob Jarvis, Gabe Rupright and Murphy Mallow, Hancock; Ryan Hunt and Skyler Dakota, Westwood.
Robert Ayotte Robert Ayotte

Girls Division 2: Holly Blowers, Manistique; Lily Calcaterra, Rosy Shimkovitz, Katie O’Rourke and Callie Kammers, St. Ignace; Natalie Beaulieu, Taylor Bryant and Bridget Stoetzer, Newberry; Khora Swanson, Ishpeming; Anastasia Bjork, Westwod; Kyra Johnson and Alexis Kallenbach, Norway; Jessica Gering, Ironwood; Tori Harris, West Iron County; Abbey Tembreull, Erin Mckenzie, Kaylor Holmstrom, Ashley Aho, Anna Meese and Madisyn Wright, Hancock.

Return to top


Do you agree with the Schoolcraft County Board of Commissioner's decision not to support the DNR land acquisition in Hiawatha Township?