2013-08-08 / Sports

Finals championships listed

EAST LANSING – A total of 101 schools won one or more of the 127 team Finals championships awarded by the Michigan High School Athletic Association during the 2012-13 school year – with six programs winning the first MHSAA team titles in any sport for their respective schools. Those winning awards include Manistique.

The Manchester girls basketball, Jackson Northwest girls bowling, Portland football, Harbor Beach football, Deckerville football and Hamtramck Frontier International boys soccer teams brought home the first MHSAA team championships in their schools’ histories.

A total of 33 teams won their first MHSAA titles. A total of 46 champions were repeat winners from 2011-12 – and 23 won for at least the third straight season.

Four schools won three titles apiece: Grand Rapids Christian, Grand Rapids South Christian, Marquette and St. Ignace LaSalle.

Sixteen of the MHSAA’s 28 championship tournaments are unified, involving teams from the Upper and Lower Peninsulas, while separate competition to determine titlists in both Peninsulas is conducted in remaining sports.

For a list of MHSAA champions, visit www.mhsaa.com/ Portals/0/Documents/Media/12- 13ParadeofChampions.pdf

Return to top