2013-05-09 / Lifestyles

Snyder declares disaster zones

LANSING – Gov. Rick Snyder recently declared a state of disaster for 19 counties and two cities – Grand Rapids and Ionia – to support ongoing local efforts to respond to the severe flooding that has affected parts of Michigan.

Along with Grand Rapids and Ionia, the governor’s disaster declaration also covers the following counties: Baraga, Barry, Benzie, Genesee, Gogebic, Gratiot, Houghton, Ionia, Kent, Keweenaw, Marquette, Mecosta, Midland, Muskegon, Newaygo, Ontonagon, Osceola, Ottawa and Saginaw.

The declaration will ensure that all possible resources, in accordance with the Michigan Emergency Management Plan, are provided to assist the local response to the flooding, which took place April 9 through May 3.

“Our first responders and volunteer organizations must be commended for their tireless efforts to protect the public’s safety during this flooding. This declaration makes available all the state resources that are needed to continue supporting local officials in their ongoing work to keep the public safe as the recovery efforts begin,” Snyder said.

Return to top