2013-04-25 / Lifestyles

Lifestyles Briefs

MCF celebrates birthdays with help of GFWC

MANISTIQUE – The Schoolcraft Medical Care Facility held a monthly birthday party on April 17.

Ten birthdays were celebrated: Sara Wilson, Shirley Grames, Betty Heible, Janice Britton, Raymond Popour, Vivian Smith, Frances Meyst, Alfred Cayia, Joseph Lutzenberger and Joann Englehart.

Each received a handmade lap robe and birthday card presented by the GFWC Manistique Women’s Club Birthday Party Committee.

The theme was “spring” and the dining room was decorated in pastels and flowers.

Entertainment and a donated cake were provided.

The May birthday party will be held on May 15 at 2 p.m., with entertainment provided by the Mud Hole Band.

Monthly birthday parties are the creation of the Manistique Women’s Club, whose members has volunteered at the facility for 28 years.

Bay College announces winter scholarships

ESCANABA – Bay College has announced the scholarship recipients for the Winter 2013 semester.

Scholarships were awarded to the following local students for the Winter 2013 semester:

Cooks: Bay College Annual Scholarship - Jeremy Carrier; Board of Trustees Award - Kendra Bloom and Haley Norton; John Lemmer (Skills USA) Award - Brandon Hopp; Arne and Violet Maki Award - Haley Norton; Vincent Myers Award - Jeremy Carrier; Richard Pepin Bay Tech Award - Brandon Hopp.

Engadine: Bay College Annual Scholarship - Krista Metcalf.

Garden: Bay College Drama Club Award - Jordan Lester and Colton Ranguette; Sam & Elinor Benedict Scholarship - Emily Lucas; Delta Area Animal Society Award - Zachary Pelletier; Delta County Golf Award - Colton Ranguette; Karen Kleikamp Award - Elizabeth Cooper; Dr William and Margaret LeMire Award - Elizabeth Cooper; Wickman & Addison Scholarship - Kenneth Peterson.

Germfask: Dr Mary Cretens Memorial - Kristy Mattson.

Gulliver: John Lemmer (Skills USA) Award - Kyle Demers.

Manistique: Bay College Faculty and Staff Award - Christina Roddy; Alma Christensen Award - Jennifer Bosanic; Robert Christensen Award - Britteny Schuetter; Dr Mary Cretens Memorial - Jamie Hider; Island Resort & Casino Award - Leanne Vaughn; Ethel and Amy Johnson Award - Craig Linderoth; John Lemmer (Skills USA) Award - Hailey Garvin; Arne and Violet Maki Award - Leanne Vaughn; Hagle Quarnstrom Award - Britteny Schuetter; Helen Sackerson Scholarship - Leanne Vaughn; Wickman & Addison Award - Shannon Woehlert; Josephine Zajkoski Fine Arts Award - Shannon Woehlert.

For information on developing a scholarship fund, contact the Institutional Advancement Office at 906-217-1700.

Bay College is an Equal Opportunity Employer and offers scholarships based on donor defined criteria. Education programs are offered in Escanaba, Iron Mountain, Manistique, and online.

Duyck named to SVSU’s fall president’s list

UNIVERSITY CENTER, MI – Heather Duyck from Manistique, has recorded perfect grades and has been named to the president’s list at Saginaw Valley State University for the fall 2012 semester.

To be eligible for the president’s list, students must be enrolled in at least 12 credit hours and earn a 4.0 semester GPA.

Saginaw Valley State University, founded in 1963, is the youngest of Michigan’s 15 public colleges and universities. SVSU has more than 10,000 graduate and undergraduate students, including over 500 international students. For more information, visit www.svsu.edu.

Return to top