2013-04-18 / Lifestyles

Hiawathaland scouts receive recognition

HARVEY – The Hiwathaland District of the Boy Scout of America recently held its annual aeeting and Recognition Dinner. The event was hosted by the Boy Scouts of Troop 360 at the Prince of Peace Lutheran Church in Harvey.

The Hiwathaland District Serves all of the Boy Scouts in the Upper Peninsula of Michigan and is a division of the Bay Lakes Council located in Appleton Wisconsin. The program speaker was Mr. Mark Logemann, the Bay Lakes Council executive director.

The dinner program recognized all Boy Scouts across the U.P. who attained the rank of Eagle Scout in 2012.

Also recognized was Mr. Greg Gostomski, who was awarded the “St George Medal” for his contributions to the spiritual development of Catholic youth.

Three adult leaders received the “District Award of Merit”. The highest award a Boy Scout district can bestow upon a volunteer. The recipients were: Betty Williams of Troop 411, Escanaba; Darryl Mattson of Pack 321, Ishpeming; and Jamie Siedlecki of Troop 466, Gladstone.

In addition to the awards presented, George Montgomery of Rapid River was elected as district chairman and Ray Schebel of Troop 140, Hessel, was elected as district commissioner.

Those elected as district vice included: John Kenn of Troop 105, Brimley; Kirk Schott of Bruce Crossing; Betty Williams of Troop 411, Escanaba; Tony Edlebeck of Kingsford; and Paul Salfai of Pack 361 and Troop 360, Marquette.

Return to top