2012-10-18 / Front Page

Ballot: Candidate races vary in county, state

MANISTIQUE – Beside the presidential race, Schoolcraft County voters will have plenty of state and local decisions to make on Nov. 6. With the general election just weeks away, below is an outline of the 2012 ballot.

For Schoolcraft County Sheriff, voters may choose from incumbent Grant S. Harris, Republican, or W. John Norrington, Democrat.

In the 1st District county commissioner race, voters can choose from incumbent Craig A. Reiter, Republican; Jerry Glasscock, Democrat; or John Zellar, with no party affiliation.

The 2nd District commissioner seat, currently held by George Ecclesine, who will not seek another term, is being contended by: Rudy Lawrence, Republican; Susan Cameron, Democrat; and Allan Ott, with no party affiliation.

Current incumbent Allen Grimm, Democrat, has competition for his 3rd District commissioner seat – Jill Johnson, Republican.

In the 4th District commissioner race, incumbent Gerald L. Zellar, Democrat, will face newcomer Isaac R. Swisher, with no party affiliation.

For the 5th District commissioner spot, voters may choose incumbent Daniel

J. LaFoille Sr., Republican, or newcomer Renata M. Kitzman, Democrat.

Uncontested incumbent county candidates include: Prosecuting Attorney Timothy R. Noble, Republican; Clerk Dan McKinney, Republican; Treasurer Julie B. Roscioli, Democrat; and County Road Commissioner Bernard Lund, Democrat.

In Doyle Township, Precinct 1, voters will choose from incumbent Tracy Smith, Democrat, or Stephanie Carlson, Republican, for clerk.

Voters in Seney Township, Precinct 1, may choose two of the three candidates to be a Tahquamenon Area Schools Board member: Christopher Beaulieu, Samantha Oswald or Mikal M. Staley.

In Hiawatha Township, Precinct 1B, voters may choose two of the three candidates to be a Munising Public School Board member: Paula Ackerman, Jason Lindquist, or Thomas H. Luckey.

For the supervisor position in Thompson Township, Precinct 1, voters may choose from incumbent Theresa Lund, Democrat, or Len Van Ness, Republican.

For United States Senator representing Michigan, voters can choose from incumbent Debbie Stabenow, Democrat, or one of her contenders: Pete Hoekstra, Republican; Scotty Boman,

Libertarian; Richard

Matkin, U.S.

Taxpayers; Harley

Mikkelson, Green; or John D. Litle,

Natural Law Party.

Vying for the coveted U.S.

Representative, 1st

District, spot are: incumbent Dan Benishek, Republican; Gary McDowell, Democrat; Emily Salvette, Libertarian; and Ellis Boal, Green.

Looking to replace term-limited Steven Lindberg, Democrat, for the 109th district seat of state legislature is: Jack Hubbard, Republican and John Kivela, Democrat.

For the incumbent Michigan Supreme Court justice position (an eight-year term), voters can choose two from the following: Bridget Mary McCormack, Kerry L. Morgan, Colleen O’Brien, Bob Roddis, Doug Dern, Connie Marie Kelley, or current justice Stephen Markman.

A partial justice term, ending Jan. 1, 2015, is also up for grabs, with Shelia Johnson, Mindy Barry, and current justice Brian Zahra competing.

For a 6-year term for 4th District Court of Appeals judge, voters can choose from Judge Stephen Leopold Borrello or Judge Peter D. O’Connell. A partial term for another 4th District Court of Appeals position is being sought by Amy Ronayne Krause.

Return to top