2012-07-19 / Lifestyles

Cloverland selects new area directors

Ronald D. Provo Ronald D. Provo SAULT STE MARIE – Cloverland Electric Cooperative has announced the results of the director elections.

Cloverland Electric is democraticallycontrolled by its members and is governed by nine directors elected by and from the members of their respective districts to serve a three-year term of office. One seat is up for election in each district every year. Voting took place by mail-in ballot and concluded on June 22.

Incumbent director Richard J. Newland of DeTour Village was re-elected in District A with 532 votes. Robert L. Winkelman received 284 votes, followed by Michelle M. Traynor with 151 votes. District A is also represented by directors Dale Carlson of Stalwart and Gerald Nettleton of DeTour Village.

Charles F. Litzner of Sault Sainte Marie was elected in District B with 362 votes. Donald C. Wilson received 256 votes, followed by William T. Munsell with 189 votes, Thomas L. Farnquist, Sr. with 156 votes and Steve W. Sprecker with 138 votes. Litzner joins directors Linda Hoath of Sault Ste. Marie and Robert Schallip of Neebish Island in representing the members of District B.

In District C, Ronald D. Provo of Manistique was elected with 449 votes. Tamara Gady received 259 votes, followed by Ivan Darling with 243 votes and Scott D. Erickson with 130 votes. Provo joins directors Peter Legault of Engadine and Virgil Monroe of Manistique in representing the members of District C.

CEO and President Dan Dasho stated, “I would like to thank all the director candidates for their interest in serving the cooperative by pursuing a seat on the board of directors. I would also like to thank the members who took the time to vote. The new voting process significantly increased member participation in the democratic process.” Dasho also presented the highlights of the past year, which will be featured in the July/August issue of Michigan Country Lines.

District B Director Carl Eagle was honored for over five decades of service. He was elected to Cloverland’s Board of Directors in 1961. Director Eagle decided not to seek another term.

Return to top