2012-05-24 / Front Page

Residents fill primary ballot

Deadline for party affiliation passes

MANISTIQUE – The ballot for the August primary election is slowly coming together in Schoolcraft County. Although it’s not set in stone, a recent filing deadline has produced a number of local candidates for the county ballot.

On May 15, candidates with a party affiliation were required to file a nominating petition and Affidavit of Identity with the county, township or city in which they reside. Here is a list of those vying for their spot in county politics:

Schoolcraft County Sheriff: Grant S. Harris, Republican and W. John Norrington, Democrat. County Board of Commissioners, District 1: Craig A. Reiter, Republican; Jerry Glasscock, Democrat; and Michelle Allsteadt, Republican. County board, District 2: Susan Cameron, Democrat and Rudy Lawrence, Republican. District 3 of the county board: Allen Grimm, Democrat and Jill Johnson, Republican. For county board District 5: Daniel J. LaFoille Sr., Republican and Renata M. Kitzman, Democrat.

Uncontested races for county wide positions, to date, are: Prosecuting attorney: Timothy R. Noble, Republican; County treasurer: Julie B. Roscioli, Democrat; County clerk Dan McKinney, Republican; District 4 of the county board: Gerald L. Zellar, Democrat. County Road Commission (one vacancy): Bernard Lund, Democrat.

Townships, including Doyle, Germfask, Hiawatha, Inwood, Manistique, Mueller, Seney, and Thompson are also boasting a number of races.

The only proposal currently on the ballot is the Thompson Township millage increase proposal. This proposal explains the township is seeking an increase of ¾ mills against all ad valorem property owners for the purpose of purchasing a township fire vehicle and related equipment.

Candidates running without party affiliation have until July 19 to file their nominating petition and Affidavit of Identity. The August primary election takes place on Aug. 7.

Return to top