2012-05-03 / Community

LSSU and five community colleges enter into financial aid consortium agreement

A new agreement between Lake Superior State University and five community colleges will benefit students attempting to complete their baccalaureate degrees.

The consortium strengthens the partnership between LSSU and community colleges that have worked closely for many years, including Alpena Community College, Bay College, Kirtland Community College, North Central Michigan College, and Northwestern Michigan College. It provides a structure that allows credits to transfer successfully toward an LSSU bachelor’s degree.

Through the agreement, students at junior status or higher may be concurrently enrolled earlier at both LSSU and their community college using financial aid through LSSU. Students may enroll in classes at LSSU main campus, online, and at LSSU regional centers in Escanaba, Gaylord and Petoskey, as well as community college main campus and off-campus centers.

Concurrent enrollment is a program in which colleges may create partnerships that allow their students to take courses at all of the member universities. This partnership allows students to benefit from the collective offerings of all of the participating institutions. The only requirement to be concurrently enrolled through the consortium agreement is that students must have earned an associate’s degree or 88 college credits and be enrolled in classes that apply to their LSSU bachelor’s degree, with at least one class each semester taught by LSSU.

Students are encouraged to meet with their college advisors to learn more and begin planning an academic schedule that will provide access to the financial aid consortium agreement so they may achieve their higher education degree goals.

For more information, contact the LSSU Financial Aid Office at (906) 635-2678 or finaid@lssu.edu, or any one of the LSSU regional centers.

Return to top